Posted by: Mike Lambe | August 25, 2011

Summer Update

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve checked in here. For a guy who is still looking for a job, I seem to be pretty busy. Here’s what’s going on in my world lately:

The Ginja Ninja tears it up with Russell Batiste

Unfortunately, it was just too good to last. Family Funktion at the Tabor wrapped up in April, after a solid 3-month run of groovin’ and helping out the community. Before it was all over we had one hell of a Mardi Gras throwdown with New Orleans’ hardest working drummer Russell Batiste! Since then, C-Money split town and is now tearing it up back east with his new band Yeah Bud. Back here in Portland,  I know there are some of us who would love to get the Funktion started again in the Fall. Let’s make it happen, Family!

Speaking of family, Donna and I took a trip to upstate New York to visit her brother’s vacation home. We lounged for a week on Great Sacandaga Lake and Lake George while playing with our awesome nephew and adorable niece.

If you’ve read my Phish review from a few years ago, you may be wondering why I haven’t posted anything about this summer’s Gorge shows. Frankly, I was just too blown away by the experience to write about it. There are fine reviews at Online Phish Tour and Mr. Miner’s blog if you need a recap of what went down. The band is really on fire right now, and the 2 Gorge shows that opened the second leg of their Summer tour were among the best they have played all year, perhaps even since their 2009 reunion.

For me the shows were just the delicious creamy filling in the middle of a weeklong Twinkie of Phishiness. Coalition Brewing hosted a Gorge pre-party, where Portland’s Phishiest met in the beer garden for some tasty brews and vintage Gorge jams on the sound system. Scott Hewitt and I had a fun drive to and from the shows, improvising a Stephen King-esque short story about the rapidly spreading windfarms along the way. And while the counterculture bazaar in the parking lot never slept, it never got rowdy or ugly either. We met some really nice neighbors in the campsite and soaked in the one-of-a-kind atmosphere. I was riding such a high after these shows that I went out to watch the webcast of both nights at Lake Tahoe at a great local tap room called Hop Haven, meeting even more kindred spirits who just couldn’t get enough Phish.

Further Bus at the Gorge

While the highlights of my summer have been pretty exhilerating, the everyday stuff has been fun too. I get to babysit some pretty cool kids. I’ve got a great set-up in the guest room where I can practice trombone with some jazz play-along CDs, all through my headphones so I don’t bother the neighbors. And I’ve been playing drumset more than ever. In fact, music has kept me the busiest this summer, as I have jammed with no less than 6 bands in preparation for a full slate of gigs in the near future. Among the places you can see me sing, play percussion, drums or trombone  in the next few weeks:

Tonight with Mystic Canyon on NE 30th Ave, just north of Alberta Street’s Last Thursday Street Fair

Noon-2:00pm  Saturday 9/10/11 with Mystic Canyon at Vancouver Peace & Justice Fair, Esther Short Park, Vancouver WA

2:00pm Sunday 9/11/11 with the Featles at Squidstock (contact me in the comments for details)

8:00pm Saturday 10/1/11 with the Harmless Eccentrics and the Magenta Theater Band at the Magenta Theater, Main St, Vancouver, WA

Thanks for reading and I hope to see you soon. Keep an eye out for Umphrey’s McGee’s new album Death By Stereo, available 9/13/11 everywhere. I’m working on hosting a listening party here in Portland before the album drops, so stay tuned….

Uncle Bubba sits for a spell

Responses

  1. Oh yeah! I have a blog! About time I finally posted something….


Leave a Reply

Categories

