Posted by: Mike Lambe | September 17, 2010

A Tale of Two Leagues

Football season is underway and once again I am playing in two highly competetive fantasy football leagues. The same two leagues, in fact, in which I led my teams to the playoffs last year. Although neither is a keeper league, both had most of last year’s owners return for the 2010 season. I probably won’t be posting weekly blog updates – I’m already off to a late start – but I’ll mention my teams periodically over the next few months. For now, here’s how the 2010 season began for me.

NFFL (My 2nd year in this ESPN league)
Team Name: Rose City Rock Show
Draft Position: 7th (out of 14)
QBs: Kevin Kolb, Donovan McNabb
RBs: Ray Rice, Ryan Grant, Jahvid Best, Tashard Choice, Kareem Huggins, Jason Snelling
WRs: Greg Jennings, Michael Crabtree, Bernard Berrian, Austin Collie, Kevin Walter, Sidney Rice
TE: Brent Celek
D/ST: Cincinnati Bengals
K: Ryan Succop

Though all of the Portland owners had a great time drafting at Bottles, the draft didn’t go exactly how I had hoped. I wanted a top WR and QB early, but just couldn’t pass on Rice falling to me at #7. I’m glad I got Jennings in the third, but in this QB-crazy league, the top 10 QBs were already gone by then. I rolled the dice on Kolb in the 5th, but had I taken Eli instead, I might not have been so eager to grab McNabb as a backup in the 8th. The boldest pick of this draft was Ed’s Round 2 (18th pick) snag of Arian Foster, who went on to make him look like a genius as Player of the Week.

Week 1 was brutal for my team, as you might have guessed. Aside from the two high-profile injuries, Cincy’s D was a disaster and Rice, Celek, and Crabtree were major disappointments. Luckily I was able to get help on the waiver wire, dropping Grant for his backup Brandon Jackson and even scoring Fred Taylor (cutting Snelling loose shouldn’t hurt too much.) Looking forward to better matchups for my guys this week.

Bort Footbal League (My 3rd year in this Yahoo League)
Team Name: PDX Prowlers
Draft Position: 11 of 12
QBs: Aaron Rodgers, Alex Smith
RBs: Shonn Greene, Jamaal Charles, Matt Forte, Reggie Bush
WRs: Anquan Boldin, T.J. Houshmandzadeh, Steve Breaston, DeMaryius Thomas, Kevin Walter, Arrelious Benn
TE: Jason Witten
D/ST: Philadelphia Eagles
K: David Akers

The Bort itself is no longer around, but we were still able to carry on with this league, albeit down to 12 owners from the previous 16. I was pretty pleased with this team after the draft, getting the top QB I wanted. The trade of Housh to Baltimore complicated things a bit since I already have Boldin, so I dropped D. Thomas and picked up his teammate Jabar Gaffney, who bumps T.J. down the depth chart.

The Prowlers dominated week 1 with the top point total in the league and a 40-point margin of victory. Greene’s matchup against Baltimore scared me enough to bench him and start Forte in his place (this league plays 2RBs, 3WRs, with no flex position.) Despite Greene being my #1 pick, I think he sits again this week against New England, with Forte and Charles looking like solid plays.

Leave a Reply

Categories

