Posted by: Mike Lambe | January 31, 2010

Random Post and Pix

Donna and Mike at the Northern Lights Saloon, Polebridge, Montana, August 2006

I’m finally getting my computer fixed, so I’ll get back to posting more and better stuff here and at my other blogs for Mystic Canyon and the Harmless Eccentrics. In the meantime, just a few random thoughts I didn’t get around to blogging about, along with some random pix I found on my old computer.

Getting tilted at rehearsal in Camas, April 2007

  • Unfortunately, one reason I’ll have more time to blog is I am out of a job. I am certain I have the skills to get work again in medical billing soon, but I don’t have much passion for the work and would love to be able to take the time to find something I truly enjoy. Anybody hiring bloggers?
  • I thought about doing a “Best of 2009” post, but I really did not pay much attention to what was new in 2009, unless it was on Sirius Jam On. Mantis came out in January and nothing I heard for the rest of the year even came close, but I’m sure my opinion could change if I actually listened to some other stuff. What little I have heard of Muse has me curious, I’ll have to check it out when I have my good computer back.
  • I did see some great movies in 2009 and would say this was my top five, in no particular order: Up in the Air, Watchmen, District 9, Tell No One, and Extract. No, I did not see Avatar, but that’s probably the only movie that could crack this list.

World Premiere of Scary Bloated Banana, Lincroft, NJ, July 2009

  • If you followed my Fantasy Football posts, you probably just assumed I crashed and burned in the playoffs. I actually went to the Championship in my ESPN money league and lost a heartbreaker by one point. Still won myself a bit of prize money, which has already been spent of course. In my Yahoo league, I lost in the semi-finals but won the consolation game for a third place finish in a tough league.
  • As a follow-up to my last post, Mystic Canyon is ready to return to the stage on Saturday, February 20th at the Sellwood Pub. The evening will feature the extended Mystic Canyon family, as the Harmless Eccentrics will open the evening and Mike Smith will follow with his new bluegrass project. I’ll post more on the other blogs as the evening draws nearer.
  • Finally, one last point about 2009 – it was a great year for live music. I saw more of my favorite bands in concert than any single year, including Phish, the Dead and the Allman Brothers, Pearl Jam, The Swell Season and Umphrey’s McGee. My only regret was missing Railroad Earth despite having three chances throughout the year, but I enjoyed discovering some new favorites in the local scene, which I look forward to writing more about in 2010.

Mystic Canyon at the Someday Lounge in Portland, July 2007
Leave a Reply

Categories

