Posted by: Mike Lambe | September 19, 2009

September – It Begins

September always feels like the beginning to me. Sure the calendar turns to a new year in January, and nature springs back to life around April. But once Labor Day has passed, and with it the Summer, new things start happening. Many years ago, that meant school, marching band, and new TV shows. Nowadays, it means a heavier gigging schedule, more new TV shows, and Fantasy Football.

This year I’ve gotten a reasonable handle on my addiction to America’s most counterproductive national pastime. I only signed up for 2 leagues this year, and ended up with two very different teams. I’ve been starved for blog content lately, so I’ve decided to chronicle my teams’ progress here. I’ll introduce the teams and leagues in this post, and post my Week 1 results later today. Each week, I’ll try to post my results by Wednesday and hopefully, this exercise will get my creative juices flowing so I can get back to more compelling subject matter.  

First up, the Vancouver Volcanoes (in draft order):

Hoping for a repeat of last year's dominance (espn.com)

Hoping for a repeat of last year's dominance (espn.com)

Michael Turner, RB, Atl
Reggie Wayne, WR, Ind
Pierre Thomas, RB, NO
Chad Ochocinco, WR, Cin
Carson Palmer, QB, Cin
Lee Evans, WR, Buf
Ahmad Bradshaw, RB, NYG
Fred Jackson, RB, Buf
Steve Breaston, WR, Arz
Joe Flacco, QB, Bal
John Carlson, TE, Sea
Redskins DEF, Was
Shonn Greene, RB, NYJ
Earl Bennett, WR, Chi
Colts DEF, Ind
Matt Prater, K, Den
Martellus Bennett, TE, Dal

This is a 14-team head-to-head PPR league run by my drummer buddy Jason on ESPN.com. The rest of the owners are his friends and family, some here in Portland and the rest in New Orleans. I had the #4 pick in the draft, which was held at his house on August 23rd. Twelve of the 14 owners were in attendance, which was a first for me, so it was a lot of fun heckling questionable picks and owners who let the clock tick down to :02 before making their pick.

My other league drafted later that night. This is my second year in the Bort league, a 16-team Yahoo league for fellow Umphrey’s McGee fans. This draft was sort of an afterthought, and when I learned I had the 16th pick, I figured I would not get a quality team. I was very pleasantly surprised – here are the results, copied from Yahoo!

PDX Prowlers
1. (16) Drew Brees
2. (17) Steve Slaton
3. (48) T.J. Houshmandzadeh
4. (49) Jonathan Stewart
5. (80) Darren McFadden
6. (81) DeSean Jackson
7. (112) Philadelphia
8. (113) Sammy Morris
9. (144) Nate Washington
10. (145) Vernon Davis
11. (176) Hakeem Nicks
12. (177) Chad Pennington
13. (208) Malcom Floyd
14. (209) Chansi Stuckey
15. (240) Jerramy Stevens
16. (241) Neil Rackers
17. (272) Shaun Suisham

 

Suisham was an autopick at the end, I have sinced dumped him to add a backup Defense (Houston has a good matchup vs. Oakland on Philly’s Bye Week.) Also unloaded Stevens in order to add James Davis. I should note that this league plays 2 RBs and 3 WRs with no flex position. It will take some solid performances from young players to make this team a winner, but I like my chances. Good luck to all of my leaguemates – have fun!

Leave a Reply

Categories

