Posted by: Mike Lambe | June 13, 2009

We Opine on Hockey and the English Language

I got my start in blogging about 9 months ago when my friend Nash invited me to contribute to his blog We Opine. Random hilarious discussion ran the vast spectrum of sports, politics and male sterilization procedures, and often included snippets of our personal instant messages. And cocktails. It is in that spirit that I dedicate an occasional column at Sounds Good to carry on the We Opine tradition. I wrote the majority of this post Friday night, and added some links and such today. Enjoy and feel free to add your thoughts.

I just finished watching the only period of hockey I have watched all season. The 3rd period of Game 7 of the 2009 Stanley Cup Finals. The Pittsburgh Penguins entered the period with a 2-0 lead and ailing captain Sidney Crosby on the bench. The Detroit Red Wings kept the pressure in the Pittsburgh end for more than 15 of the 20 minutes, it seemed.  Detroit scored on a long shot after nearly 14 minutes, and pinged the crossbar with 2:15 left. But Pittsburgh’s excellent defense never allowed anything to develop in front of the goal, save for a harrowing final six seconds. Why the heck haven’t I been watching this game?

I guess I never really got over the last strike. And I moved to Portland, where we have the WHL Winter Hawks, and occasional Canucks and Sharks games, I think. And I got into Fantasy Baseball and Football, and playing music, and blah blah blah – ahem – blogging. (Excuse me.)

I wouldn’t even have tuned in until I saw my friend Shannon’s Facebook status update: “Game 7ing!” Now, I’m all for proper grammar and syntax, occasionally making an exception for efficient and common text-speak. But this is a linguistic variant I can get behind – I call it verbing. It’s effective and easily understood – heck, to not verb is a tremendous waste of the inherent flexibility of words. I say, Verbing Awesomes Language. Although I will admit, as Shannon contends, Verbing Wierds Language too.

I still wouldn’t even have tuned in until I remembered the Onion article I saw that reminded me that these two teams were in the Finals. (Again, apparently.) The last time I was paying attention, teams from exotic locations like Carolina and Tampa Bay were in the Finals, so two old school teams duking it out for 20 minutes seemed worth watching before having some dinner. (Ah, Happy Hour Sports on the West Coast.) What I saw tonight took me back to my favorite hockey years in the mid-90s, when the Devils finally brought home the Cup.

So I think I’m back, hockey. I’m sorry I was gone so long, but I couldn’t help but get caught up in the moment as the Penguins passed around the Stanley Cup. Hey, there’s Bill Guerin, I remember him. Hey, did that guy just drop an F-Bomb on national TV? Awesome! If you’ve read this far, leave a comment and tell me when you got hockeyed (or re-hockeyed, like me.) Or give me some good examples of verbing.

In other hockey news:

Responses

  1. “Indescribable” always bothered me. I mean, once you say something is indescribable, haven’t you just described it? But then, I always thought “brang” should be a word. “Ring, rang, rung: bring, brang, brung.”

  2. We Opine is just a great name for a blog and I would suggest that you take advantage of he brilliance that is my creativity. I do believe that there should be a move conversational interaction posted than simply your opinion, but I guess if this is the best you can do then it will have to work.

    On another note, HA- HA (Nelson voice), Randy got schooled and gave up a goal and it can be seen by the whole world on YouTube.

  3. Everything is very open with a really clear description of
    the challenges. It was really informative. Your website is very useful.
    Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

